Elizabeth R. Austin



"New Music Connoisseur" for permission to reprint concert reviews

Falcon Photo (My Music Page) - Carol Philips

if you know Japanese, this is the info for you!

information about the Scarecrow Press' book concerning American women composers, where Michael Slayton writes the chapter on my music

In Women of Influence in Contemporary Music: Nine American Composers, Michael K. Slayton has collected essays, which focus on women who have made significant contributions to American music: Elizabeth Austin, Susan Botti, Gabriela Lena Frank, Jennifer Higdon, Libby Larsen, Tania León, Cindy McTee, Marga Richter, and Judith Shatin. While these composers have much in common, not least of all dedication to their art, their individual stories reveal different impulses in American music. Their works reflect the shifting societal landscapes in the United States over the last seven decades, as well as different stylistic approaches to writing music.

Each chapter includes a biography of the composer, an interview, and a detailed analysis of one major composition. The composers openly reflect on their individual journeys, in which they have discovered respective musical languages and have found success during different times in history. Because few music books focus solely on female composers, Women of Influence in Contemporary Music offers a rare glimpse into the styles and attitudes of gifted women and their work.

About the Authors & Editors:
Michael K. Slayton is associate professor and chair of the Department of Music Composition and Theory at Vanderbilt University's Blair School of Music.

$75.00 | Cloth | 0-8108-7742-2 | 978-0-8108-7742-9 | Dec 2010 | 494 pp.
$75.00 | Electronic | 0-8108-7748-1 | 978-0-8108-7748-1 | Dec 2010 | pp.

For more information and to order, click here.


scroll the forward arrow below the SCOPE cover to pp. 24-25: "Composer In Waiting" (Slayton)

http://www.amc.net/ElizabethRAustin    - Will supply music samples soon!

http://www.bruceduffie.com/austin.html        - Interview between Bruce and Elizabeth

www.peermusic-classical.de ....  where you can order my 'Waitin' and Wailin' Blues' for piano solo

www.newyorkwomencomposers.org/profiles.php4?zdm_id=AUS02 - New York Women Composers




Edition 49:  https://www.edition49shop.de/ (in German)
Click on Tonger (publisher under Edition 49) to find Austin music.

​​www.sai-national.org/home/   ...   click on Composers Bureau